Glenealy back at the top

Glenealy are at the top of the pile in Wicklow hurling once again after a win over the holders Bray Emmetts in Joule Park Aughrim. It is the Red’s 15th Wicklow Senior title and they were fully deserving winners in a well fought out game.

Bray playing with the aid of the wind looked comfortable early on and led 0-4 to 0-1 after 10 minutes with Christy Moorehouse unerring from placed balls in the opening stages. A goal by Alan Driver in the 15th minute was a crucial score for Glenealy and helped them to stay in touch and only being a point in arrears at the break left them in a great position, Bray 0-7 Glenealy 1-3.

In the second half every indiscretion by Bray within 80 metres of their goal was punished by Jonathan ‘Bosco’ O’Neill who finished up with a total of nine points and the Man of the Match trophy for his sideboard. A proud day for a great servant of both Glenealy and Wicklow was capped off for him by also sharing the field with his son Jonathan Jnr who also put in a sterling shift.

The second goal in the 52nd minute was a real opportunist effort by Leighton Glynn who pounced on some hesitancy by Eoin Mason to flick the ball to the net and seal the win.

Glenealy: Keith Snell, Lee Kavanagh, Warren Kavanagh, Emmet Byrne, Garry Byrne, Danny Staunton, Tommy Doyle, John Manley, Jonathan O’Neill Snr (0-9f) , Enan Glynn (0-1), Robert Byrne, Jamie Byrne, Jonathan O’Neill jnr, Leighton Glynn (1-1), Alan Driver (1-1).

Subs: Ruairi O’Neill for R Byrne (54m), James Manley for J O’Neill Jnr (59m), Gavin Weir for E Glynn (60m).

Bray Emmets: Eoin Mason, Sean Maloney, Peter Kiely, Peter Walsh (0-1), Daire Henderson, John Henderson, Enda Forde, Diarmuid Masterson, Luke Maloney, Christy Moorehouse (0-6f), Padraig Doyle (0-2), Marc Lennon, Tom Cash, Mikie Lee (0-2), Paul Cunningham .

Subs: Ben McCormack for T Cash (HT), Liam Benville for P Cunningham (49m), Liam Kenny for M Lennon (56), Darragh Maloney for D Henderson (56m).

Referee: Ciaran Fleming (Baltinglass).

After the game Glenealy captain Danny Staunton was presented with the cup by County Chairman Martin Coleman.

The curtain raiser was won by Bray as their under 17 team finally shook off a determined challenge from Michael Dwyers to emerge victorious.