Wicklow Juniors bow out in Drogheda

Louth 2-11 Wicklow 0-10

Wicklow junior footballers fell to a strong Louth team in Drogheda last night in the semi-final of the Leinster junior football championship. Louth have been responsible for 3 of our losses in Leinster football in  2017 after beating us in senior, under 21 and now junior.

After a call to clubs to provide players for the panel a magnificent response seen a strong squad travel to Drogheda on the night.

A much more acquainted home team were full value for their win with a strong full forward line doing most of the damage. A goal in the first minute from William Woods set Louth on their way and an Eddie Doyle free in the 20th minute was Wicklows first score.

Wicklow had their best spell early in the second half landing three unanswered points but their mini revival was halted by another Woods goal as he finished soccer style past Dignam. There were plenty of good performances by the Wicklow lads and some will hope to make the step up to senior team soon.

Louth: W Woods 2-4 (0-2fs), C O’Hanlon 0-4, D Maguire, C Giggins, C Sheridan 0-1 each.

Wicklow Team: Peter Dignam (Rathnew), Padraig Higgins (St Patricks), Chris O’Brien (Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney), John Manley (Rathnew), Martin Cullen (Barndarrig 0-2), Eoin Murtagh (Dunlavin), Chris Healy (Rathnew), Theo Smith (Rathnew), Paul Murtagh (Dunlavin), Eddie Doyle (Rathnew 0-5 (4f), Padraig Byrne (Ballymanus), Cathal Fitzgearld (Kiltegan), Stephen Duffy (St Patricks), Mark Doyle (Rathnew 0-2f), Josh O’Callaghan (Kilmacanogue): Subs. Sean McGraynor (Avondale 0-1) for S Duffy (BC), Alan Daly (Donard The Glen) for J O’Callaghan, Paul O’Brien (St Patricks) for P Murtagh), Liam Kinsella (Avondale) for C Healy, Simon Boucher (St Patricks) for C Fitzgearld.

Others on the panel included: Lorcan Treanor (Eire Og), Stephen Connor (An Tochar), Ben O’Callaghan (Kilmacanogue), John Byrne (Aughrim), Conor O’Brien (St Pats), Jordan Pettigrew (St Pats).