Wicklow Schools Into Second Round

Wicklow senior schools football team qualified for the second round of the Leinster post primary schools championship when they defeated Wexford Schools on a score line of 2-09 to 1-06 in Ballinakill on Saturday last. Despite falling behind in the early stages the Wicklow lads worked themselves back into the game with goals coming from Patrick O’Connor and Joe Gardiner Wicklow went into the half time break leading by 2-04 to Wexford’s 0-04.

Playing into a very strong second half wind and with Wexford getting the first score of the half Wicklow had to work very hard to grind out a very deserved six point victory. Wicklow now go on to play Dundalk Schools on Friday 9th January in Dundalk.

Dillion Keogh,(Colaiste Chill Mhantain), Saoirse Kearon (Avondale Community College) Chris O’Brien(Gaelcholáiste na Mara),Liam Kinsella (Avondale Community College) David Gettings (Scoil Chonglais), Eoin Murtagh (St Kevin’s CC Dunlavin),Gavin Owens (Scoil Chonglais), Eoin Baker (Gaelcholáiste na Mara) Cal Kelly (Gaelcholáiste na Mara) Dan Kelly (Scoil Chonglais) Niall Hughes (Coláiste Bhríde), Shane Barrett (St Kevin’s CC Dunlavin) Dean Newsome (Avondale Community College), Joe Gardiner (Coláiste Bhríde), Patrick O’Connor (Blessington Community College)


Alan Dillion (Coláiste Bhríde) for Gavin Ownes,

Darren Beevor (Avondale Community College) for Dan Kelly,

Daire McBride (Arklow CBS) for Shane Barrett.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.